Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Inputs to a microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

akira181

Hi there

I'm pretty new to the world of microcontrollers so I am using a BASIC Stamp module for the easier learning curve.

I have a question about sensor inputs to the microcontroller.

I plan on using PID control to stay on the line and light sensors to detect the line. Also, I'd like to be able to regain the line if lost, hence the use of a microcontroller. On a side note, what would be the best sensor, phototransistors/photodiodes or IR detectors?

My main question is, what is better, analogue inputs or digital inputs to the microcontroller? What are the pro's and con's?

Also, if digital, how would PID control work as there are no longer values to sum to find the error signal.

Analog vs digital

Well,

I think it don't makes much different because analog will be in the end an digital number....

And digital comm will be digital anyway.

I think the best thing is to use digital, itw ill make the project robuseter
and easyer to do. Offcourse it will depend on the sensors used..

Analog will be easier building but more hardware will be needed..

Tks

can you expand on that?

What do you mean by the analogue will end up digital?

How do the sensors affect it?

How will PID control work for digital if there are not any seperate values from each sensor to sum and find the error?