Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Infrared Transmitter and Receiver help

Status
Not open for further replies.

senior project

I have used several circuits found on this forum and other websites, but nothing seems to work for me. I am looking to build a circuit that will transmit and receiver an IR signal. I am new to wireless communication and especially IR. I bought an IR LED from allelectronics.com, CAT# ILED-8 and some receivers, CAT# PCM-1, CAT# IRD-11.

The receiver that I have operates at 30kHz. I need a range of 6ft. I currently have a range of 3ft, but it is very sensitive. If I get slightly of the direct line of site I am screwed.

I am using a 555 timer circuit. I put 3 IR led's in series to give more range, which seemed to help a little, but not much.

I tried using RF, but bought the wrong modules and had problems with shielding.

The purpose of this part of the project is to create a robot follower. I have a robot ready to receive signal from 3 sides, left straight and right. Depending on which receiver receives the IR signal (from about 6ft away) the Hbridge will then drive the motors to turn the robot in that direction.

I have tried so many things an am currently frustrated with this part of the design. Please help.

Much Appreciation.

Post schematics of your circuits, particularly the 555 driving the IR LEDs.