Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need help with digital electronics :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluehand

Hi there!, I want to make this project, but i'm noob in electronics :oops:, and i'm studying other area. (something with mechanics :) )

A three digit seven segment display, in which is shown a number entered by a numeric keyboard. It should can be reseted.

I've investigated it and at this moment I think it maybe will be something like this:

- Keyboard: with 12 buttons, 10 digits + reset and lamp test
- Decimal to binary converter: To pass from entered digit to a 4-bit word.
- One flip flop (I guess those is a memory), with a FIFO stack, in which the last entered digit "shifts" the last one, like in calculators.
- Three 4-bit to sevent segment display drivers.
- Three sevent segment displays (one digit each).

Keyboard => A/D converter => Flip Flop FIFO => Drivers => Display

This is a graphical representation of my idea:

**broken link removed**

I've developed the drivers -> display stage with Philips 4511 ICs (HEF4511BP) and KINGBRIGHT SC56-11HDB seven segment leds (common anode?) with a 150R Resistor in each line, I've seen there's not enought contrast in leds.

I tried to make the shift stage with 74ls164 ICs, but it was a great downfall! :(.

I hope you could help me in this project.

greetings to all!

(sorry for my Pre-historyc english, i hope in the future it will be better!)

Shifting it can get REALY complicated whith logic chips and gates.