Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need help on a J K Flip Flop Counter

Status
Not open for further replies.

angrypancake

Hey guys,

I have a final project which is a 12 hour clock counter. Now I've seen the forum threads about them and they go about the whole thing their own way. Now me being a student I'd actually like to learn rather than people giving me the answer. I have the minutes and seconds part of the clock done. That was easy but the hard part is the 12 hour. You can't use a 7490 because it doesn't have a preset. Which is what I wanted to use for the clock to go from 12 o'clock back to 1 o'clock. I want to clear the 1's clock at 10 which also clocks the 10's to 1. Which is 10 o'clock then have a NAND gate that will enable preset at 1 from 10's and 2 from 1's which is 12 o'clock that will enable preset which "SHOULD" set the 1's to a 1 instead of clearing it to 0. Now I can't find an IC chip that will do that. The 7493 only does BCD so 0-9 and thus not counting to 10.

My question is, is there any IC chips that counts like a 7490 but with a preset?

Now half of me decided that I'm just gonna build an asyncronous J-K Flip Flop Counter.

View attachment 63886

I started with that but my question with that is why the hell does it start the count at 6?