Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need Circuit 12V to 48V 4A DC to DC Converter

Status
Not open for further replies.

hellenic

Hi.

I need to find a schematic 12V to 48V 4 Ampere DC to DC Converter

Someone told me that i can do that with a UC3843!

The think is that i can't find a schematic! (Or don't know how... Because i am new to electronics)

Can anyone help me?

Last edited:
I think there are boost converters that do this, if you want an IC. Alternatively, you can construct it yourself, search for joule thief, this is the simplest example of DC-to-DC conversion I have seen.

You probably could do it with a UC3843, which is an old Unitrode part now made by TI. I'm not sure why you'd pick this particular part, except you might have found one in an old PC SMPS.

The UC3843 data sheet doesn't have any cookbook boost converters, which will make it hard for you to design something.

I would suggest reading the data sheet and app notes for the Linear LT3782. It should give you a better understanding of a high power boost topology.

hellenic said:
Hi.

I need to find a schematic 12V to 48V 4 Ampere DC to DC Converter

Someone told me that i can do that with a UC3843!

The think is that i can't find a schematic! (Or don't know how... Because i am new to electronics)

Can anyone help me?

hi,
A quick look at the UC3843 datasheet says: Vmax=30v and Imax =1amp.

Nigel Goodwin said: