Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I am a completely beginner. Could anyone give some suggestion to my enquiry??

Status
Not open for further replies.

ponyta

Dear all,
i am a completely beginner about sensor and connecting sensor to a computer. Please don't mind that may be i am asking some stupid questions.

I am doing a project which need sensor to detect whether a person is standing inside a specific area.

If the person is standing inside that area, a device which have pwoer supply will turn on and also a C++/flash program inside a computer will run.

If the person then stand outside the area, we device will turn off and the program inside a computer will stop.

Could anyone tell me that which sensor i should use and how to connect it to the device to control on/off and connect into a computer and let the program to get the variable?

Thanks very much

Can you describe the "specific area"? What defines the accuracy of "inside" the area and "outside".
Detail...details...details! It will help. :)

Ken

Can you describe the "specific area"? What defines the accuracy of "inside" the area and "outside".
Detail...details...details! It will help. :)

Ken

there is a telehphone putting on a shelf at a wall.
if the person stand in front of and close to the telephone(less than 30cm), the lights will turn on and the computer will start running the program.
if the person go away or far away from the telephone(more than 30cm), the lights will turn off and the program will stop