Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to measure current ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chanbkhn

Hi everybody !

I am building a project ( power supply , 5 V and I = 100 mA , I am a newbie ) I have a problem about measuring current .The first , I test current as figure

**broken link removed**

Measuring current is about 25 mA , then , I don't connect led , repeating measure current as figure ( about 30 mA )

**broken link removed**

Because I want to have full current ( 100 mA ) , I connect series a darlington stage using a couple C1815 transistor as figure , after , I test current , but only 30 mA .I don't know what is happening ,althoght I connect three darlington stage , the current is very small ...I also add a darington ( using couple C535 ) into circuit , but the result is same ( about 30 mA )

**broken link removed**

My multimeter have error or my way is not good or ... , I don't know the reason and what must I do to solve this proplem ? I hope all my friends can help me solve this proplem .

Thank you very much !

Try with 100 darlington, you will get lower result :D
Reduce the resistance.
Is that a normal LED? You want to drive it with 100 mA? You need the base resistor too and you don't need a darlington, just a general purpose npn.

What you building a power supply?

The output circuit draws its own current that required to it.