Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How much power should i supply?

Status
Not open for further replies.

stuboy78

Hi all

I'm new to electronics. :)

i have built a board with 24 relays on it of 12V each (ohm resistance of coil is 750 ohms) i have connected the pins of power of all relays in parallel mode. now i want all of them to work simultaneously when i supply power. how much power will it require? will the volts be same 12V and i have to increase the ampere?

Stuart

Yes, they will take the same voltage since they are in parallel, but each will require a certain amount of current. Since you have 12, they will require x12 as much current. Whatever the datasheet current the datasheet says the relay needs x12. If it is saying the coil needs 12V and the coil resistance is 750 ohms, then each relay will draw 12V/750ohms = 16mA. Current is the number of electrons so it will split down each path to each relay (in this case they split equally since each relay is the same resistance). Voltage is a property of each individual electron has, and so voltage stays the same when they are in parallel.

You are talking about the coil that controls the relay, not the main terminals of the relay right?

Last edited:
Got the data sheet

Hey thanks for the reply!

I just checked the manual. it says 16.70 mA at 12V which means

16.7 x 24 = 400.8 mA

So if i have an AC adaptor that says 12V 500mA, it will work? or should i look for 400mA only?

What if i use a 1000 mA? will it burn the coils?