Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with stereo audio mixer

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrfhoutx

I've been looking around and am having a bit of trouble finding an appropriate circuit for my purpose. I'm a bit new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'll start by explaining the purpose of this as best I can. I want to combine two stereo audio signals (both trs style connections) into one stereo audio signal (again a trs style connection). The two audio sources are an iPod and a PSP. I would like to keep the circuit as simple and small as possible (not due to lack of skill but because of extremely limited space as all this will be combined into the compact space of the PSP).

I have seen this thread here:
Simple Stereo Audio Mixer (Two RCA in, One RCA out) - Page 2 - All About Circuits Forum

but I am not quite sure that any of these circuits meet my needs. If one of the circuits does and I have overlooked it please let me know.

One other question:

I would like to be able to control the level of each source (ie. if I want to hear more of the iPod and less PSP or vice versa), so if both sources have volume controls wouldn't adding gain/volume controls into the circuit be redundant?

The mixer with transistors has too much voltage gain and too much distortion. it also has volume controls that you don't want.

The mixer with opamps is too complicated.