Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with part choice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chrishelvey

Hello, This is my first post here. I am not an engineer, just a long time hack. I'm designing a "proof of concept" product and am having some difficulty with choosing the right IC.
In short, I am using a Microchip PIC running at 20Mhz to do one job only and that is generate a square wave pulse. I use this setup because I like to use software to quickly change my frequencies accurately while experimenting to get the end result I want. I will use another PIC to run sensor input and I/O for other things, including turning the output of the PWM PIC on/off to the load (power transistors.)
My problem is that generally MOSFET transistors are not driven high-enough to turn on all the way by a logic level signal, so I looked in to logic level chips such as the MIC5014 . At first glance of the datasheet, it looks to serve my purpose well, until I look at the rise times - 90us . If my math is correct (which it may not be) 90us without any "time off" time is only about 11Khz . The PIC can create a square wave much faster than that, and I would like to push frequencies of up to 200Khz.
Does anyone have some advice about this? I am looking for simplicity in the circuit. Essentially it is: PWM-->1-chip solution to --> drive power transistor(s) at up to 200Khz.
Thank you to all those who contribute.

Chris