Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with elevator project

Status
Not open for further replies.

someguy33

Hi, I'm very new to this stuff. I'm in a first year university design class, and we have to design a controller for a 3 floor elevator. We have been given a bread board and a bunch of IC's to make it, but being in a first year class neither me nor my team know what to do with some of this stuff.

The elevator has 3 floors each with a sensor and there is a top and bottom sensor to prevent the elevator from going above or beyond. The IC's we have are as follows

4049 Inverter x1
4011 NAND x1
4023 3 input NAND x1
4025 3 input NOR x1
4070 exclusive OR x1
4077 Exclusive OR x1
4027 J-K flip-flop x2

I've got info on the IC's and I've got a bit of an idea what to do, but I don't understand how to use the flip-flop. I believe we need that to make it so you just push the button once and it will keep it in memory (so you don't have to hold it down). I'm basically lost and need any and all the help I can get.

Sorry for such a new person type question.