Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with a simple charging circuit Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

jezza103

Hi everyone. I am just a beginner with electronics and have built a few nice little projects but i am stuck with this problem.
I have got some small super capacitors rated at 25 farad 2.7 volts and I want to build a circuit to charge them safely. I have built a little voltage regulator circuit that is based on a LM317T voltage regulator and can happily get any voltage that I want but what i want to do is have the circuit shut off when the capacitor reaches about 2.6 volts is there a simple way of doing this please. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to read my message.
Jeremy

I don't understand... this sounds like you built a wheel and are asking how to build a wheel... ?? If you already have a regulator you can adjust to 2.6V, it will charge the caps to 2.6V.

Last edited:
Hi Duffy I know it sounds strange but I want the circuit to turn itself off when the cap gets to 2.6V. I thought I could conserve some power so if I was to leave the room while i left the cap charging iThe circuit would automatically turn off. Or maybe get a buzzer to sound or led to light to remind me or something like that. I am sorry if i did not make myself clearer on that
Jeremy

Hi,

If it is set to regulate at 2.6 then once the cap charges it should not use much power even if still running.