1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Help required to program a PIC

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by ERGOYE, Aug 31, 2017.

  1. Mike - K8LH

    Mike - K8LH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes:
    109
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I wouldn't recommend this board. It's poorly designed and probably a good candidate for the "Spot the Mistake" column on the TalkingElectronics web site, a 'closed' web site where the Author can ridicule designs without having to deal with comments from victims (reference: spot-the-mistake post).
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  2. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Jpanhalt ,john, ...all stuffs....i bought this pickit3 what can i do next.....?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6,074
    Likes:
    524
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    You have source code and a programmer. Re-read posts 9, 10 and 11. Make a decision as to which IDE* you plan to use, and move forward. A good place to start is usually with the directions and a worked example. But first, you need to make that decision.

    John

    *MPLab 8.92 or MPLabX 4
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0

    jpanhalt....I installed 8.92 and ready my pickit3....right now
     
  6. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6,074
    Likes:
    524
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Then, I recommend that you do "debugging" before programming. You do not really require the PK3 or a chip to do that. Although, you can install and debug with just the Assembly file (.asm), I strongly recommend that you use "Project Wizard" and create a project. Do not select PK3 as your debugger right now, pick instead "MPLab SIM." Then add your program and step through it in debug mode.

    Once that is working, switch to "Release." Change your debugger to "none" and select your programmer as PK3. Then rebuild and program your chip to see if it works.
     
  7. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes:
    191
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    I have found an error in the source code in post #3. There is a line that says "goto loop 0" It should say "goto loop0" The extra space is making it look for a symbolic location loo (Which does not exist but loop0 does exist.) After changing this line it assembles using the EPE magazine TK3 toolkit. I have also edited the source file so it assembles using MPASMX.exe (v5.55) This is somewhere in the MPLABX directory structure.

    Edit. I have put the .hex file (Created using the TK3 toolkit) into my dropbox folder You should be able to download it from this URL
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/f9orq1f4bydh95q/MOODPIC02.HEX?dl=0



    Les.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Les Jones....thank you.....next should i have to load to chips that hex file by using pickit3 ?
     
  9. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Les....good morning ...i got success to program that PIC16F84 with JDM hardware with the software which is called PICgm programmed. and i used the hex file which you sent me...and in the software it ask to correct the configbit...and I did that. now i am going to install the programmed PIC16F84 in to my project...
     
  10. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Les and the rest of this forum guys thanks a lot.
     
  11. atferrari

    atferrari Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Argentina
    About to move to Win 10; does MPLab 8.92 run in Win 10?
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2017
  12. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,331
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Yes, although you may as well make the move to MPLABX, as that's the only one going forward.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    ONLINE
    I run both... BUT... If you go for MPLABX get version 4... I'm relatively happy at the moment!!
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    Use Linux with MPLAB-X you will be amazed at how much better it runs on 64 bit Linux.
    I have 4 on windows 10 and Linux the linux box rocks the socks off windows.

    Now if I can get my head to working I'm getting there slowly
     
  15. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Is there a ready made TK3 on the web?
     
  16. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6,074
    Likes:
    524
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Do you mean PK3 , not TK3?

    If so, PK3 means PICKit 3. It is the low-end programmer/debugger made by Microchip and works well for low-volume hobby work. There are also clones and counterfeits on the Internet and eBay.

    Some eBay prices are better, but be careful what you get. If you get directly from Microchip, it has a generous warranty/replacement program that is not advertised. In other words, there is a written warranty. But if your programmer fails for an unknown reason, Microchip has a vested interest in helping you program its chips. I had one simply replaced that failed. In another instance, Microchip gave me a good discount in the ICD3 programmer just because I also had a PK3 (almost full credit for the PK3 and I didn't have to return it).

    So, although Internet prices might be cheaper, there is an advantage to getting an authentic PK3 from Microchip or an authorized reseller.

    John
     
  17. atferrari

    atferrari Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Argentina
    Maybe 3 years ago they replaced, with no questions, even if I not requested by me, my failed Picstart Plus, sending a brand new one from USA to Bs. As.

    Returning the failed one to Arizona costed more than buying a new one to the local representative, but noblesse obliges.
     
  18. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    ONLINE
    TK3 was a very unique assembler... I thought our Nigel Goodwin has a copy!!
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6,074
    Likes:
    524
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    ONLINE
  21. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6,074
    Likes:
    524
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    I have lived through a lot of history. But I haul my horse in a trailer, rather than the other way around.
     

Share This Page