Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help on LED Brightness sign

Status
Not open for further replies.

Selp44

Hello,
I am no electrician, but i think i can manage a small project like this.
I was given an LED bar sign and its way too bright. I want to reduce the brightness by maybe adding a resistor in line with the 120V or somehow modify the circuit shown in the pics. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    880.4 KB · Views: 215
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 206
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    757.2 KB · Views: 179
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    877.5 KB · Views: 180
Does the electronic circuit board cause some LEDs to blink on and off so it looks like motion? Then if you add a huge resistor that will get VERY hot to reduce the brightness then the blinking and motion might stop.

Welcome to the forum!
Without our knowing what's on the circuit board and its intended function it's difficult to advise.

Sorry,
I forgot to mention that there are indeed some leds that blink.
I am not sure whats on the circuit board as everything is glued. I could probably take it apart and see whats on there. I was hoping that i could add a potentiometer or something that would help reduce the overall flux intensity of the leds. They are almost blinding..