Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help - how can something need to run on AC and DC at the same time!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

nvirg

Hi all,
I am a Lab Technician at a High school and today one of our teachers and I were coming up with designs for a motorised toy boat. Were were checking out if the motor was working and how much voltage it took to effectively turn the fan. We hooked the motor up to a portable AC/DC transformer and wired it to the AC connection. NOTHING. We tried it again by wiring it up to DC (which we shouldn't have needed to do). That didn't work either. Then we discovered that the fan would only run if it had one wire connected to the positive AC terminal and the other to the negative DC terminal! We are both Biology majors (little physics background) and were wondering how or why this could occur as it doesn't seem to be logical?
Can anyone help? P.S. We checked the transformer and it was working okay with light globes etc.

Circuits can require AC and DC at the same time to work. DC is electricity at a frequency of 0 Hz, and frequencies can be separated to do different things. An example is the LNB in the middle of a satellite dish. It is powered by DC from the receiver, while the high frequency AC signal to the receiver travels down the same wire, in the opposite direction.