Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help for newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

fmatosqg

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to PICs, but have used it before with colleagues. Now I am on my own, and I'm stuck with very basic programming. I have overall knowledge of PICs, and general programming or electronics should not be a problem.

Now i have built my own serial programmer (Programming the PIC16F84 with Linux), went to linux with both sdcc, gpasm, gpsim and picprog, and tried to program my 16F684A to do some led toggles based on elementary programs stealing power from this same programmer, but a no-go. And yes, I get 5V across Vss and Vdd (in fact 5.5V but I dont trust my volt meter precision).

Things i tried: a) putting a led from vpp to /MCLR so it now reads 5.0V
b) toggling portb2, portb3 and porta(various) so it should not conflict with the programmer
c) changing all references from 16F427 to 16F468A, because the original program had these info.

Now my concern is tracking the problem, so I can tell whether the chip is not alive, not working, not programmed, etc.

Here it is what it does: I read 0V at all portA, portB0~3, and -0,25V (yes, minus) at portB4, independent of the setting of output to any of this pins. From this I can understand that the chip is not driving the outputs, or else it should show at least 0,2V as any TTL would do. And, if toggling as it should, I expect it to be at least 1V