Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help designing a simple LED table

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuSty420

Hi all, first post here!

I am a beginner to circuitry and DIY electronics and I had a simple project in mind that is something I can use to both educate myself about electronics and make something crafty!

I want to make a very simple NON-interactive LED backlit glowing end table / nightstand. The table is going to consist of a wooden frame with 3 isolated chambers, each housing different color LED's, and a glass panel sitting ontop.

Here is an quick sketch (birds-eye view) of my design:

**broken link removed**
3ft(w) x 10in (h)

The brown frame represents the wood skeleton, the colored squares are the three chambers housing the LED's. The glass panel is the same measurments (3' x 10") and rests directly on top of the panel. In between will be a sheet of rice paper or similar medium to diffuse the light.

I plan to have 9 LED's in each square, organized by color (red, yellow, green). The three squares will be wired to a simple on off switch and powered from the wall.

So now, onto the questions:
  • 1. How do I correctly setup the LED circuit so that the LEDs are in groups of 10 with each group linked to the on/off switch?

• 2. For 27 LED's (9 red, 9 yellow, 9 green) what kind of DC power supply should I use to power from a wall socket?

Thanks for looking,
-RuSty

Last edited:
make 9 leds in series and grop it as one and 3 such groups. you need a power supply of