Help a newbie build a battery box

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonkeysAteMe

I'm new to circuit board engineering, and I would like to make an external battery pack for my consumer electronics.

I would like to have a battery pack that runs on AA's that I can use to charge multiple devices(mp3 player,cell phone, portable DVD player, etc..).

I can use both a dc plug(the kind that plugs into a car) or an ac plug. (would prefer that it used ac if possible).

I would seperately charge the AA's.

Can I just hook up a dc outlet directly to the batteries, because the dc plugs have transformers built in, or do I need to do more?

Are there any links to sites that would help or can you guys tell me what to do?

Thanks.

what exactly do you want to do ?
I hope you intend those to be rechargeble AA batteries (more environmentally friendly) and I would suggest using a dry led acid battery like a car battery they are probably more competitive as far as cost per Watt.
if your going to power multiple devices you will need it to have a voltage regulator, charging NiMH battries is also more tricky than a led acid battery, to charge the lead acid battery you just need a DC power supply that is a couple of volts more than the battery, assuming it has diodes in it like the rectifier of a wall transformer you won't have to worry about putting a diode between the battery and power supply, you will need a resistor of a value equal to (DCin-battery volts)/amps to charge.

i do though recommend using the dedicated adapters for stuff mainly because what you propose is such a wasteful method: