Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HEF4030B (Quad XOR) How to connect? Pls. help :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

edlim

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in electronics... so i really need your help.
Now from the pics attached prob. should be clear on my desired ooutput.

What i want to do is, when i ON my car parking light, it will then ON also my signal (fender) light. But when i activate my signal lights (blinks), the signal will alternate the fender light ON / OFF and when i deactivate the signal, it will remain ON (provided my parking light is still ON).

I'm not sure whether can this work? Also, what's the purpose of;
1. Vdd
2. Vss
on the chip?
I tried to have it power via an adaptor but it seems that it shows the signal out of pin#3 voltage even if pin#1 and pin#2 has signal of 6Vdc. However, the output shows 3Vdc on pin#3. The -ve i connect directly to -ve terminal of my multimeter while the +ve to pin #1 and loop to pin #2 for testing. Pin#3 is connected to +ve terminal on the multimeter.
When i short the 6Vdc on pin#1 and pin#2, output on pin#3 still shows a power of 3Vdc.

Pls. help.

Thanks a million.

Rgds.
Edwin.

Attachments

• mywiring.jpg
    mywiring.jpg
    36.1 KB · Views: 809
which is positive? and which is ground?
i also tested this way...