Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hardware Engineer to Characterization Engineer

Hello everyone,

I'm interviewing for a power IC characterization engineering role and am wondering if it's a good career move. I'm currently an analog hardware engineer. I work on power electronics design(buck converters, LDOs, etc). I want to focus my career on power electronics design. The problem with my current employer is that it's the same thing over and over (DC-DC converters). I don't see any opportunity to get into other areas of power electronics. I like that this potential new job will expose me to other areas of power electronics (gate drivers, IGBTs, SIC, Motor control, BMS). But I fear that because it's not exactly a design role that it will be difficult to move back into design work. I'll basically be validating other people's designs. Any thoughts or general advice? Have any of you hopped around through different roles and successfully gone back to design work?

Yes I started as a MOS production engineer, then went to test engineering writing tester
programs for new ICs, then to Central apps designing application specific for
customer consideration, also FCC design and qualifying a TV game for emissions,
then to FAE work in field, then sales (to generate retirement savings), then back
to FAE work (greatest love) and then retirement.

Throughout all this I was not qualified for any of these jobs initially, and overcame