Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Get data into a computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,

I am new to the PC interfacing world so please go easy on my if I get something completely wrong..

Basic idea is to get a few bits of data into the computer, at a reasonably fast interval. ECU in the car is too old for on board diagnostics, so making software and hardware for my laptop..

Data to retreive will be RPM, Speedo (pulses from gearbox pulse generator), oil temp, oil pressure, boost level and fuel level.

Need to know the best way to get this into the computer, at a reasonable update speed (say 100-250ms), and can't be too expensive.

Suggestions are always welcome.

Thanks guys,

Tim.

I would use the parallel port for data acquisition. Easy to interface, program, and is fast enough for your needs.

RPM and speed sensor should give a digital output that only needs to be sampled against a time base to calculate the result. Just need to damp the signals to a level acceptable to the printer port. I would trigger them tru an opto-isolator just to be safe.

Oil Temp & pressure, fuel level and boost signals are probably analog so you would need A/D converters to read values into printer port. Suggest 8 bit resolution A/D so it matches data width of the port.

To allow you to address each item seperately, you can use something like a 3/8 or 4/16 decoder tied to some of the printer control leads to selectively activate each individual device for input reads.

Dialtone