Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

flickering LEDs and dimly lit LEDs after LED color change mod

Status
Not open for further replies.

designlogik

First off just so everyone I am pretty new to electronics with regards to troubleshooting and any deep understanding of circuitry.

Okay the issue I have ran into occurred after modifying a Roland MC-303. I decided I wanted to change the LEDs to be blue. After desoldering all the original LEDs and soldering in the new blue LEDs and powering up the device I found that there is now a noticable flickering of all of the LEDs which are on. This flickering can be seen in this youtube video https://youtu.be/k7DLOdJR9u0 The flickering in the video is worse than when viewing with your eyes but still noticeable. I am not sure what is causing this flickering, my guess is that it has to do with possibly the refresh rate of a signal being sent from one of the MCUs but I am not sure. It is a DC powered circuit so we can rule out AC fluctuations. I believe the flickering may have existed before the modification but is more noticeable with the brighter LEDs. Either way seems odd to me that this is happening, and any insight regarding why this is occurring would be great.