Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

First electronics book for a complete beginner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chirieac

Hi,

I'm a self-taught 28 years old programmer. I've decided to start learning electronics to expand my knowledge, but I don't know anything about it and my math skills are not good.
With what kind of book can I start in this field?

I was thinking to buy Make: Electronics (Learning by Discovery)
But I've also saw Practical Electronics for Inventors, which is newer and on the description page there is this quote: "If there is a successor to Make: Electronics, then I believe it would have to be Practical Electronics for Inventors...."

Which one would be better to start with?

Hi,

Personally I liked

Complete Electronics Self-Teaching Guide with Projects
By Earl Boysen and Harry Kybett
ISBN 978-1-118-21732-0

It is a good starter book. It assumes no prior knowledge and teaches basics.

A friend recently got very enthused about Practical Electronics for Inventors and recommended it. My first was the Radio Shack book "Getting started in Electronics" by Forrest M. Mims III. I noticed it there just recently. Then his book "Engineer's notebook II". That one is probably long out of print.

... and my math skills are not good. ...

Welcome to ETO, chirieac!

Since you're a programmer, I assume your math skills are adequate to those tasks. But I have to ask; when you say that your math skills are "not good", what do you mean?