Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Emergency Vehicle Strobe Light Pattern Indicator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Black-Wolf

To anyone who is willing to help, let me say thank you right now.

First, I have some basic knowledge of how circuits work. I was an aircraft electrician for 18 years, so I understand basic terminology, and also some more advanced concepts.

Here's my problem: I'm now a volunteer fire-fighter/EMT. I installed a strobe kit and switch set which I built myself, to power the strobes and switch the patterns for them.

What I would like to do, is add a digital counter that will count from 1-24 (the number of the pattern). The counter should increase each time I press the Flash Pattern Change switch, until it reaches 24, and then it should reset back to 1. I understand the basic idea of how to do this using gates/flip-flops, or perhaps a PIC or an 74LS192 or 373.

At this point, I'm honestly thinking a 373 would work better for my needs.

There are five switches that control the strobes as well as two other switches for a pair of grille mounted lights. The switches for the strobes are:

Switch 1: Master Power (controls both the grille lights and the strobes)
Switch 2: Hi-Low Power
Switch 3: Heads 1-4
Switch 4: Heads 5 & 6
Switch 5: Change Flash Pattern (Increment from pattern 1 through pattern 24, at which time it resets to pattern 1).

Here are my questions: