Electric Fence Voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

antksmit

I am fairly new to the electronics scene, and have committed myself to several projects for the pupose of learning. I am attempting to build a tester for my electric fence around our farm, but I'm just not sure how to drop/control the voltage from the controller. I have been told that it is a DC voltage, and I know it's rated at 5kV. If I can get this voltage down into what I would consider a managable range (say, 25v) I could take it from there...

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Electric fences generally output a short high voltage pulse, it's probably not something that's easily measured?.

hi,
I have made a number of electric fences for our farm [animals] in
South Africa.
If you ever require to make your own fence, goto a local car breakers
and get a 12volt car ignition coil, the series ballast resistor and the 2mFd
capacitor from the distributor.

Using a simple circuit to switch a relay on and off, say once a second you
can generate a high voltage pulse. The circuit is designed so that you can vary the 'dwell' time of the relay [ how long its closed for, which gives some control over the energy/voltage of the high voltage pulse] and the time interval between pulses. Power it from a 12v car battery.

As a test 'dummy' load I use an old spark plug. A rule of thumb is that a
1kVolt spark will jump across 1mm gap, so if you create a gap of 5mm and the
spark jumps it, you have at least 5kV. Keep opening up the spark gap until
spark fails. This will give you a rough guide.

As the impedance of the ignition coil spark generator is high, it will deliver
very little current and it is not lethal, but uncomfortable. Anyone who
has had a shock from their car ignition will tell you.

Regards
EricG

I always thought they were more along the line of 10kV. I know they make testers for fences that measure the voltage. Some are digital and some are neon like this one:
**broken link removed**