Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electric Fence Voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

antksmit

I am fairly new to the electronics scene, and have committed myself to several projects for the pupose of learning. I am attempting to build a tester for my electric fence around our farm, but I'm just not sure how to drop/control the voltage from the controller. I have been told that it is a DC voltage, and I know it's rated at 5kV. If I can get this voltage down into what I would consider a managable range (say, 25v) I could take it from there...

Any guidance would be appreciated.

hi,
I have made a number of electric fences for our farm [animals] in
South Africa.
If you ever require to make your own fence, goto a local car breakers
and get a 12volt car ignition coil, the series ballast resistor and the 2mFd
capacitor from the distributor.

Using a simple circuit to switch a relay on and off, say once a second you
can generate a high voltage pulse. The circuit is designed so that you can vary the 'dwell' time of the relay [ how long its closed for, which gives some control over the energy/voltage of the high voltage pulse] and the time interval between pulses. Power it from a 12v car battery.

As a test 'dummy' load I use an old spark plug. A rule of thumb is that a
1kVolt spark will jump across 1mm gap, so if you create a gap of 5mm and the
spark jumps it, you have at least 5kV. Keep opening up the spark gap until
spark fails. This will give you a rough guide.