Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Earphones and strong magnetic field?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pohjanpoika

Ok well i have a problem .. i have this expencive MP3/Radio and i have protected it with antimagnetic bag which was orginally for Geforce displaycard.. Well that works and it stops the magnetic field destroying the player. I am a welder and the machine creates strong field and my earphones just stops working after short period .. Is there a way to protect them, or is there some sort of magnetic resistable earphones in the market ..

Sorry for bad english and greetings from Finland

By: Petja From

Those are antistatic bags.

They protect sesitive digital stuff from static shock.CMOS is very sesitive to this.Magetic filed should not afect it unles the field is very strong.

You may have an EMP problem this is electromegetic pulse.Its kidna like an pusle or concentrated radio waves.This can throw some sensitive stuff off because an electric curent is induced in the wires.But you need an very strong pulse to do permanent damage.

Close ligthing hits make a lot of EMP.I could once hear ligthing in my PC spekers.The speakers gave an scratch sound right when it flashed violently and not much after that an VERY loud bang. But still all digital stuff continued to work normaly.Once lighthing hit the power lines here.In our house the only thing fryed was an 1 Amp fuse.