Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Distance measurement project

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigfarmerdave

Ok, I am a bit new to this so I'll ask you guys to take it a bit easy on the first timer. My goal is to build a circuit that measures the distance from point A to point B. Point A being the end of an arm that is suspended over the ground and point B being the ground itself. Total distance between the two points could range from 6 inches to 6 feet. Anyway, as the arm travels over uneven ground, the distance between the arm and the ground changes and I would like to eliminate those changes by maintaining a set distance. So as I travel across the ground, I want to capture that (distance) data whether it be measured in voltage, frequency... and compare it against a set value and change the height of the arm over the ground accordingly so that the arm always maintains a specific distance above the ground. What I am lacking is a way to measure the distance. Any devices or ideas out there that anyone would recommend?
Thanks,
Dave