Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Digital Output from Computer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

debraye

Be warned, i am a complete newbie.

i've been working on a project but now im stumped and seemed to have hit a brick wall, i need to send a starting signal to a circuit by activating a 6Vcc relay, but i need to send that signal from the computer, i think i need to convert the digital signal to analog, but then again im not sure how to conect something like a DAC00800 which i can get quite easily but i've seen the tech sheets and i cant understand a thing. And second of all what would i connect to it? the Serial port from my computer comes into mind, but im not sure if its possible or what would i need.

Other ideas also popped up, i can send a digital signal via my audio out port also, but then again i would be sending signals out every time a windows sound starts and it just sounds kinda messy doesnt it?

The last one is using the Digital outputs from a OMB-DAQ-2416 data aquisition board, but again i've seen the tech sheets and i dont understand a thing of what is needed to connect them properly :'( i do have all the tech sheets if you guys need it, also if u need any more information, or to clear any doubt ill be checking the post frequently.

Ty for your time :D