Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Detect crossover of mains

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scarr

Hi,

I want to detect the crossover point of a mains supply and being a novice I am looking for a IC solution or simple solution if there is one?

Thanks

Note:

forgot to mention, I am using a PIC could zero crossover of AC mains be detected using the PIC somehow?

Thanks

Re: Note:

Scarr said:
forgot to mention, I am using a PIC could zero crossover of AC mains be detected using the PIC somehow?

Thanks

Yes, it's commonly done, the easiest way is probably to use a bridge rectifier feeding through a series resistor to the base of an NPN transistor. The transistor will turn OFF around the zero-crossing point on all half cycles.

If you only want to use every full cycle, you can use a simple series resistor feeding directly in to the PIC pin, see the MicroChip application notes for details.

Thanks Nigel, more question

OK, first, thanks Nigel

I am happy with either half or full cycles, I have been looking whilst wating for a reply and this whole zero-crossover is a nightmare!!!!

I am looking for the simplest way to determine the actual zero voltage point, will using a PIC pin give me this? if so can you point me at the microhip article that shows this?

Thanks

Re: Thanks Nigel, more question

Scarr said:
OK, first, thanks Nigel

I am happy with either half or full cycles, I have been looking whilst wating for a reply and this whole zero-crossover is a nightmare!!!!