Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Deisgn of a PIC dev board (nigel?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blueteeth

Hi,

I've been tinkering with PIC's for a couple of years now, using the uJDM programmer. And happily programmed 628A's, 84A's, 877A's, 874's etc.. I think its about time I upgraded, I deserve it :D

I'm fed up of having to either unplug the PIC from its circuit into the programmer (and visa-versa) or setup crude ICSP on a breadboard and disconnecting RB7/6 and the osc before programming, and replacing them. So, after a fair amount of research I've come up with a couple of solutions:

- A little circuit I designed to isolate RB7/RB6,MCLR, RB4 during programming, automatically controlled by a ISCP programmer. Should allow me to program the PIC on its board, without having to touch it (no unplugging, switches, jumpers etc..).

- Boot Loader.

Now, I've designed a CPLD dev board and it turned out well, so its the PIC's turn. In my quest for perfection, I would like to be able to use a bootloader (for F877A, F873A F88 etc.) as well as an on-board HV programmer. Both connected to the same serial DB connector, that way, I can sit at my comp either HV program, or run the bootloader without having to disconnect anything. After reading up on 'boot loading' it seems to be very handy indeed, but of course, having the option of standard programming on the board would be nice too.