Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DC Solenoid HELP....

Status
Not open for further replies.

asantini66

I'm a carpenter by trade so have some patience...lol
I have a push type 12vdc solenoid. it has a rating of 7.5w for intermittent duty, and 2.5w for continous duty. I would like to work it for about 1 sec at a time, every few minutes. I'm actually using the solenoid to push a small button remotely. I'm not sure how to go about figuring out the battery set up. I would like to keep battery pack small?
I didn't know if using a cap with a 12v battery of lower mhr rating would work?
Any info you can give me would be appreciated.

Just use a relay...if you need to keep the button too; wire the relay in parallel with the button....much more reliable.

Hi asantini66,

assuming the solenoid should be supplied with 12VDC the current at 2.5W will be about 200mA.

I suggest to use a small SLA (lead lead acid) battery of about 2.5Ah which will give you reasonable usage time of your circuit before you have to charge the battery.

Before you wire the circuit make sure your button is depressed properly at 2.5W solenoid power.

The info you provided is a bit vague. What do you mean by "every few minutes"?

Boncuk