Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DC Motor Controler Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

imperium2335

Hi,

I would like to know if anyone can help me with creating a 10KW motor controller.

I am quite new to this but I have some experience with electronics, just the basics though.

I've looked around the net and I can only find tutorials on small controllers which are no where near what I want in terms of power and robustness. I know it would be much more than simply scaling up the components of those smaller circuits in terms of voltage etc.

I would the controller to be able to be able to reverse the motor and be able to regenerate the battery upon braking (hall effect?). I also want to put in some other little things like temperature monitoring of the controller and actual RPM speed of the motor.

Could someone help me out or point me to some good tutorials?

It would be a 8KW hub motor to be controlled with a throttle for acceleration. A brake would cause it to slow down the motor and regenerate the battery if possible (As on my Chinese electric bike and most others when I was in China).

Would it be simpler/cheaper for me to create a smaller one first? If anyone has any good tutorials on that it would be much appreciated! Thanks.

8KW for a bike? I think that's 10HP. I see wheelies in your future.:D
Having said that, I have been looking for such a motor. Could you post a link? That would help us see what type it is - brushed, brushless, star, delta etc.