Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Day/Night Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeStevenson

There are some things I need to automate on a daily basis - first thing in the morning but only if there's adequate daylight.

I'm new to electronics - currently studying at Google University :confused:

I'm sure I can use an LDR to detect daylight and close the circuit. I plan to include a capacitor that will take a few seconds to discharge so the circuit can be opened almost immediately after it's closed.

Once the circuit cycles, it should stay open the rest of the day.

I've considered a timer that waits about 20 hours then resets and waits for the LDR to detect enough light again.

But it may be easier to use the LDR (or a second LDR) to detect a couple hours of darkness before resetting.

This should consume as little power as possible because it will be in a remote area and connected to a small solar panel and rechargable battery. It needs to run unattented for several weeks without draining the battery.

Any ideas?

Thanks, I guess...
I'm real new to electronics, but that sounds a bit complicated. Like a sledge hammer for a thumb tack.
I was thinking a lot simpler - a few resistors, capacitors and a timer. It basically cycles a switch once a day at daylight.
Am I thinking too small?
:confused:

Thanks, I guess...
I'm real new to electronics, but that sounds a bit complicated. Like a sledge hammer for a thumb tack.