Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Control Bare LCD With ATmega328p

Status
Not open for further replies.

Athosworld

I want to control a bare dot matrix display with an ATMega328p but I have no experience on doing this, what code do I need to create a “wiggle” AC signal to drive that LCD? Or do I have a driver IC between the ATMega and the LCD?

Its not R/W cycles. The chips had a few cycles during initial development then after everything was working the circuit was put away. Bringing them out years later show several not working and needing reprogramming. Part of it might be that I live in the tropics and that room is not air conditioned every day.

One trick that I did not consider until now is over-programming the flash, something I used to do with EPROMs -program them more than once with the same code and no erasures in-between to make sure the floating gates were fully charged or not. However waiting several years between tests makes for a very long test. Don't know how many years I have left ;-)

It might be that the early AVR chips were not as robust as the current chips. I think that flash memory in general improved a lot in the first decade of this century as have the processes.