Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

continuous power to mp3 player

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobdobbs

Hello,

I am new to electronics but am really enjoying it. I apologise in advance for my idiotic questions, and look forward to any advice you can give...

I am trying to continuously run an 1.5v mp3 player with a tiny speaker connected to the headphone output. I have tested this with a multimeter and it looks to me like it needs 90ma to run.

I have a solar panel I pulled out of an old maplin solar battery charger. I cannot find a datasheet for the panel, but it has #907-150-7v written on it. I am assuming this means it has 7volt and 150 ma output.

I have connected this via a 4001 diode to a 2 x AAA rechargeable battery pack.

This is then connected through a LM317T circuit to give the 1.5v required to the MP3 player.

With freshly charged batteries in the batt pack it runs fine. However I left the MP3 player TURNED OFF for a day to top up the batts before I tried seeing how long it would last playing through the speaker.

It was pretty cloudy for the day so I assumed my batts would be about the same as when I left them , maybe a little bit more charged. But they were flat??

I have checked my circuit. Diode is correct way round...etc.

Does the LM317 drain power through heat like this ??

Is this ever going to work anyway ?

Does anyone have a better way of doing this?

Many Thanks, any help gratefully recieved!!

Bob