Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Constant voltage on latching relay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Foulkesey

Hi guys,
Hope you can help me. Forgive me, i am an electrician i can follow diagrams but i have trouble designing anything ELV. I will start with what i have and want, then what i think i need but wether it will work i have no idea!

I am trying to have my wing mirrors fold automatically and have bought a plug and play module for this.

I have an existing 3 postion switch, fold, auto and unfold however the module i have got does not leave the mirrors in the outward position as the module uses the central locking trigger to always fold the mirrors. The switch does not have voltage once ignition is off hence the latching relay.

My plan is to install a dual coil latching relay. S1 to be activated by 12 volts from unfold position and s2 to be activated by 12 v from auto position. The trigger cable would then be in NC contacts. So when the switch is in unfold position the trigger is interrupted.

My initial thought was to use a timer delay but if i hit the switch by accident i cannot reset untill the timer has run its course.

My question with this is that the switch has voltage at all times when the ignition is on. But i need the latching relay to continue its operation once the ignition is off. Will a latching relay handle constant voltage 98% of its life?

I'd be greatful for your help and any other ideas you have.
Cheers guys
Joe