Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Connection of an old Electroencephalogram to a A/D converter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gustavo Zubieta

Hello experts electronic gurus:

I am a 55 year old physician with passion for electronic knowledge. I have an old 8 channel Electroencephalogram Mingograf EEG Junior from Siemens-Elema, that previously used ink to register on paper. I want to digitize it to a PCL-711S PC Labcard. I have been able to connect Ekg and other equipment prefectly, before.

But now I decided to connect the EEG from the point of connection to the ink dispensers that injected ink to paper. The voltage reads around 3.5 VDC. But when I connect to the PCL-711, the voltage goes up to 7 VDC. So I used a voltage divider with two 1.5 Mohm resistors in series but when I again connected it, there is still no reading and eventually the main fuse of the EEG blows out.

1) Can someone please tell me what is wrong?

2) I figured I may have to use an optocoupler or optoisolator so I was thinking of using something like a 4N35. I would feed the voltage from the EEG to the led and then I would have variable voltage output at the phototransistor. Is this a good idea and a feasable one?

Thank you so much.

Gustavo

Hi Ya Doctor

Well a possible problem may be found in here:

Analog Input
• Channels: 8 single-ended• A/D converter: 12 bit, 25 msec. conversion time
• Input range (V): ±5, ±2.5, ±1.25, ±0.625, ±0.3125
• Trigger mode: Software, pacer or external trigger