Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Complete beginner. Need help with LM386 amp project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tommyduke

I have recently purchased a **broken link removed**. I was very impressed with what this little thing could do and have looked into the design. I found this forum searching for Little Gem projects in google.

I am very interested in trying to build one of these for myself. I don't know how simple something like this is. Can anyone suggest a good guide for beginners or recommend a better 'first project'?

Yes, a tiny one - it's just something like an LM386, perhaps a 741 (or other opamp) and a 9V battery.

First of all, let's not get the LM386 confused with an opamp. It is not. It is an audio power amplifier... it's a very good first project, because all the hard stuff of audio amplification is taken care of right inside the chip with very few external parts. It uses some fairly large capacitors for coupling of the audio signals, but pound for pound it is one of the best audio amp chips I've come across, although my last project that used one I picked the AN7586 (which uses even bigger coupling capacitors) probably for the power output. When you look up the LM386 data sheet they also suggest the LM4877 or LM4951 for more power and less THD.