Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cleaning Electronics: Advice, favorite methods, equipment, etc.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomizett

Hi All,
This is a general question rather then one pertaining to a particular repair. As a repair technician by trade, I spend a lot of time cleaning things - but I sometimes wonder if there might be better ways of doing it.
Specifically, I'm interested in hearing peoples experiences and favorite methods of cleaning and drying entire PCBs contaminated with mostly "organic" type fluids such as oils and sugars (read smoke fluid and beer).

I have discussed with a colleague the possibility of using an ultrasonic cleaning bath - does anyone have experience of using one? What is the preferred cleaning medium - just (de-ionised?) water or something more fancy? Is there any possibility of damage, and what type/grade/power of machine would you recommend?

Cleaning with water of course raises the problem of thorough drying. I wonder if placing in an oven at a reasonably high (50-80 degC maybe?) for a few hours would be the most effective? What maximum temperature could be sustained without degrading component (particularly caps?) life? Drying has to be completely thorough and reasonably quick to stop any kind of corrosion or tarnishing setting in. If using an oven, would it be necessary (or beneficial) to remove the moisture be some means?