Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

cell phone recording

Status
Not open for further replies.

tigger08

Hi,
I'm new to this and this may not be the right place to ask this question, but I don't know where to start.
I am trying to find or design a splitter to be able to record a phone conversation with a digital recorder.
I have seen one that works but can not duplicate it at this point.
I want to come out of a cell phone headset jack and go be able to use a headset with mic.
I want to be able to go into a splitter and go into a digital recorder.
I used a conventional stereo splitter and it records the incoming callers voice but it does not record my voice. I don't know if the problem is in my splitter or if its in the phone.
This is for a legitimate use. I am trying to use it to record conversations while talking to people while conducting crisis negotiations as I am a negotiator with a police department. If there are any suggestions or ideas I would greatly appreciate them. If more information is needed I can provide it or can be contacted offline.
Thanks

What splitter and headset are you using?

Are you recording to the left and right channels of a stereo recorder or trying to just record to one channel on a mono recorder? It may just be that when you set the recorder to match the rather high signal coming from the phone to drive the headset speaker, it can't pick up the very low signal coming from the headset mic.