Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CD4017 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haybist

This is a 2 part question.

1. What purpose does the CD4017 serve in this design. Please don't be vauge, as I have been reading up on this componet and still am lost how it works in this circuit!

2. I'm new to simiulation software. I have Proteus and Multisim. For the life of me I can not get this circuit to simulate. Any suggestions? Does the design look OK? Any Proteus hints to simulate this?

Thanks!

It looks like the 4017 is being used to "strobe" the seven segment displays. The 4017 increments up one for each incoming positive clock transition. Note the out pins used and the sequence from right to left. As each output sequentially goes high it turns on a respective transistor or it should anyway. The emitters are all tied together but do not go anywhere? I don't think that is correct. So anyway, while I see the transistors as incorrect the idea is to use the 4017 to sequentially strobe the displays.

While I have not used Proteus or Multisim I have used the 4017 in LtSpice. I would not screw with the posted circuit to simulate a 4017 but try just the 4017 and a clock.

Ron

I also thought the emitters looked odd tied together. I'm going to put them to gnd, as the display is a common cathode? (Agree?) I think I can better see what the 4017 is trying to do. I'm going to play with a 4017 and a clock pulse now on Proteus. Thank you for ytour quick, consise response.