Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Capturing image from live NTSC stream

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonyfai

Hi there! This is my first time posting here. A brief introduction of myself: an EE undergraduate struggling hard to learn about electronics and engineering. It would be grateful if all the experts here can give some advices or directions on the problems I have.

Currently I am working on a memory circuit that saves a field or a frame image from a live NTSC stream and displays back onto a monitor. System flowchart is as below:
Live video --> Anti-aliasing filter --> A/D, 8-bits --> Memory --> D/A, 8-bits --> Reconstruction filters --> Video output on monitor

The memories used are four 2Mb 8-bits FIFO field memory which each can save 1 field of NTSC image. The write and read operations of the memories are controlled by a CPLD programmed in VHDL. In order to maximize the number of saved images and simplify the circuit, I decided to directly digitize the composite NTSC signal. Hence, 4 field images or 2 frame images can be saved at most. A/D, D/A, CPLD and the memories use the same clock, which is 4x the colour subcarrier frequency in NTSC.(14.318MHz)