Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

C compiler?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeerBelly

I'm new to programming in C.
Is there a free Microchip compiler for the PIC?
Is there a better free compiler recommended?
How do I get one?

You can use the HTC and the XC compilers for free, for ever... The "LITE" versions just don't optimize your code..

They also double you ram usage.... If you down load MPLAB IDE they come with it, AND you can use the full version for a month.

If you need to get started... I have done Nigel's ASM tutorials in C... Link's in my signature... I've also done a "Startup" guide with MPLAB IDE version 8.

https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/eb08.582/.

Have fun... You'll also get tons of help from all the guy's here.

Thanks Ian. I have been using the MPLAB for asm coding but it would not work on C. It would tell me I was missing files or they could not be located. I must just have a bad copy of MPLAB

Thanks Ian. I have been using the MPLAB for asm coding but it would not work on C. It would tell me I was missing files or they could not be located. I must just have a bad copy of MPLAB
You have to install XC it doesn't install by default

Yes! Like Burt said... But it does prompt you when you install MPLAB, but as you were using asm you probably said no at the time...

What version of MPLAB are you using... If you want to use XC compilers I think you need version 8 or newer...