Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Binary Counters

Status
Not open for further replies.

h3lladvocate

I'm kind of new at this. I have a 16 pin dual 4 bit counter. I've set up a 555 timer IC so that the output high frequency is about 15Hz. I've connected 5 V to the Vcc on pin 16, the output for the 4 bits each to an LED, so i can see the state of each, pin 8 is connected to 0 V, and pin 2 is connected to the output of the timer. This is what im really not sure about. I've looked up the data sheet for the counter(74HC390) and it only has 3 inputs, a reset, divide by 2 and divide by 5. Im not sure where to connect the output of the 555 timer to. Can anyone help me with my counter. I can't find any tutorials on how to wire one up, and the manufacturer "assumes" you know how to use it...

Last edited:
First of all I hope you are using resistors in series with the LED's on the output pins. For a 5V supply and red,green, or yellow LED's I would recommend a minimum of 150 ohms.