Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Being kept from self-develop in job

Status
Not open for further replies.

electroRF

I'm very frustrated from my job.

I'm a validation engineer, and what I do most days is:
- Running automatic tests on SW Versions
- Going over logs (after running is done)
- Report on bugs

I wanted to program an automative script which will parse and analyse the logs.
For that, I need an API of the Tool which captures the logs, since this is the tool that can read the logs.

I approached several co-workers to get this API, but it seems that everyone tries to get me out of their code.

It's very frustrating 'cause it makes me feel like everyone is satisfied as long as I do my "monkey" job.

I have two questions folks:

1. should I approach my manager about it, and let him break these walls for me?

2. Is it possible somehow to access a log file which cannot be read by windows apps as word / notepad / csv?
This log file is read only by the specific Tool which was written by these co-workers.

Thanks guys!

Personally I think that any competent manager would encourage team-work to automate the log analysis. Not only would that enhance staff morale, it could also save the company money.

hi Alec,

When I approached these co-workers, then the guy who's in charge of the tool and refused to give me the API, told me that I could open a service request for an analysis script, and he'll provide me with one.