Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beginner needs technical assistance

Status
Not open for further replies.

BristolGarry

Hi folks -

I am new to building electronics, and have a project that I would like to complete. The problem is I know what I want to achieve, but not how to GET there. :/

What I am needing to build is a motorized winch system that will (preferably) run off of 120V AC, and can lift approximately 30 lbs of weight at a speed no greater than 1/2 inch per minute (30 inches per hour) - that is the most important thing. I also need the system to have some sort of brakes on it (thus the winch idea) so that I can stop the motor, and not have the weight sink back down. I have searched for various schematics for a system like this, but have not had any success (sorry, but Mechano is not going to cut it in this case).

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Garry Wakely

I'm not a mechanical engineering student, but if it were me, I'd try to find a scrap motor somewhere from some sort of home appliance (blender, garbage disposal, mixer, etc). Hook a spool of rope with a ratcheting system attached to it, and there you go.

Hope that helps.

Thats a pretty slow speed. I think your going to need a very deep gear reduction to achive that. Can you use pulleys on your winch? or does it have to be a dead pull off the spool?