Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beginner, need help starting

Status
Not open for further replies.

laxmidd50

Ok, i'm just getting into microcontrollers and such. I bought some 28 pin 16F886's (thought they were the same as 16F88's but apparently not). I cant seem to program the thing. It gives an error when trying to transfer the program to the pic. Im trying to do this with a minimum number of connections for the moment, then ill add more stuff later. So I currently have Vcc-pin20, gnd-pin19, Pin8-gnd. And the connections with the pickit2 are 1 (Vpp/mclr)-pin1, 3(Vss)-gnd, 4(ICSPDAT/PGD)-pin28, 5(ICSPCLK/PGC)-pin27.
That is everything connected. Vcc is a 5V wall wart, rated at 0.4 A. Could i have fried the pic because i didn't use any resistors? I realize this isn't a common pic, here is the datasheet https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2008/08/41291D.pdf

I bought some 28 pin 16F886's (thought they were the same as 16F88's but apparently not).

Don't panic. You have not made a bad decision in buying 16F886.

The 16F886 works with the same language and can do whatever 16F88 can and more because it has more I/O pins. You just have to make sure where each pin goes. These will be different from the 16F88.

Regarding programming the device, others will give you a better advice as I don't own a pitkit2.

Hi,

Agree with eblc, thats still a good chip to use - no problem there.

You do not say what the error message is - it would help .