Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

attiny85 for analog input digital output - please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

coreymanshack

First of all I would like to note that I am very new to building circuits, the raspberry pi, and attiny85. I have been doing a lot of research on what I'm trying to do but I have a few questions. I want to use the attiny85 to measure voltage of a 1.5V battery as in this schematic and send it to the GPIO on the raspberry pi and read the digital result via python and log it; https://123d.circuits.io/circuits/111623 ... ry-pi-gpio

I will be doing the following with the circuit -
Analog in on pin 2 of the attiny (positive battery terminal, negative side of battery grounded to GPIO) - digital out on pin 7 of the attiny. Then I want to send digital out from attiny to GPIO on pin 3 to read with a python program on raspbian and log it.

I know I need avrdude to program the attiny and a simple DAPA circuit ( I will be using the serial port and passing avrdude the serial option ). What I don't know - is what code to write for the attiny to accept analog input on pin 2 and send the digital equiv out on pin 7. I then don't know how to access GPIO pin 3 with python and read the result to log it. Can anyone help me and/or point me to some documentation on how to do these two things?

Update:
I found this link for interfacing GPIO with python https://sourceforge.net/p/raspberry-gpio ... wiki/Home/ and on the digital section it says the following -

Input