Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Atmel AT89C2051 to PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Parker.Clark

I am new to micro controllers and have been looking for some projects that I could do. I have done a few LED circuits with various micro controllers, but I wanted to do something a little different. I found this circuit and thought it would be fun to do, however, I only have **broken link removed** programmer that I built. How would I go about converting the circuit from the Atmel micro controller to a PIC that I can program with the above programmer? Thank you.

Just build an AVR programmer, you can build a printer port interface to most AVR's using only a few discrete components. Circuits and software are prolific on the net, even a few minutes searching will find you dozens of programmers than can be built from a scrap bin of parts.

That is a possibility, but I would have to buy other Atmel micro controllers and build a whole new programmer. If anyone else has any other suggestions, please respond. Thank you.

It may well be easier to use the atmel 51 uC.

However, if you really want to do that with a PIC you will need to understand the firmware of the atmel chip and rewrite it for the PIC architecture. The circuit itself would not be very different - use a 14 or 18 pin pic. Check out what the '51 firmware is doing with the clock line. it might need to go to an interrupt pin. you might want to pick a PIC with I2C for the serial eeprom though it could be bit banged.